Question GIGABYTE 5700 XT Bios mod fails

AlleyCat

Veteran
Mitglied seit
Okt 9, 2020
Beiträge
290
Punkte
17
Hi,
I am failing to update Gigabyte 5700 XT. The same procedure updates the BIOS on MSI cards with no problem. I follow the instructions on Igors Lab.

The sign of having trouble with the card bios flash shows in GPU-Z. After flash using amdvbflash the values of GPU and memory frequencies is empty. With stock bios there are Mhz frequencies.

Is there any known problems with flashing Gigabyte cards?
Any suggestions on what other forums I may ask for assistance?
Is it possible that the OEM bios is signed, and any modified bios will be rejected?
If the bios is signed, any tools to resign, or would I need to buy a card from a different vendor?

Thanks,

Alley Cat
 
Zuletzt bearbeitet :

ssmokez

Neuling
Mitglied seit
Feb 26, 2021
Beiträge
2
Punkte
1
Great work. So i just tried this on one of my Aorus cards and it doesnt look like it works.

When patching using the version of amdvb mentioned above from the github link i get the following error.

BIOS authentication signature mismatched
ERROR: 0FL01
The tool on github works only with signed ROMs. The one I attached has 2 bytes patched, and that one works only with modded roms.
Hope it helps :)
 

qwaszxman

Mitglied
Mitglied seit
Feb 25, 2021
Beiträge
12
Punkte
2
I was able to replace the tREF value to 12000. I searched the text string for 810B, and replaced it with E02E.

Windows will not start with tREF value set to 12000 (E02E).
I had to remove the card, remove the AMD drivers, re-flash with a working bios.

What is the next step?

did you find tRef 12000 stable / usable? have you tried bigger values?
 

Deano74

Neuling
Mitglied seit
Mrz 1, 2021
Beiträge
5
Punkte
1
Hi All, great read, but after trying many different suggestions and options in here, I still kill my BIOS on Gigabyte 5700 XT Gaming OC Rev 1.0 everytime, I have 2 cards and nothing seems to work.
Is there a customised "stable" or "should" work BIOS someone can share with me for 24x7 mining.
On a good note I finally managed to get it to flash the updated BIOS from Gigabytes website, so this is where I am at right now.
Thanks in advanced.
 

Mini_Me

Urgestein
Mitglied seit
Okt 11, 2020
Beiträge
1.463
Punkte
82
Hi All, great read, but after trying many different suggestions and options in here, I still kill my BIOS on Gigabyte 5700 XT Gaming OC Rev 1.0 everytime, I have 2 cards and nothing seems to work.
Is there a customised "stable" or "should" work BIOS someone can share with me for 24x7 mining.
On a good note I finally managed to get it to flash the updated BIOS from Gigabytes website, so this is where I am at right now.
Thanks in advanced.
Hi and welcome,

Please read thoroughly and follow the guide in the kindly attached link below,

 

Deano74

Neuling
Mitglied seit
Mrz 1, 2021
Beiträge
5
Punkte
1
Hi and welcome,

Please read thoroughly and follow the guide in the kindly attached link below,

Thank Mini-Me for the detailed instructions, I have followed this again step by step. Created new modded BIOS file as attached carefully following your instruction and unfortunately killed my GPU again, will reflash it again back to default after work. I don't get what I am doing wrong here, am I just unlucky with the cards I have.

BIOS flashed with 2.93plus in safe mode windows, one card in system at a time. unlockrom first. Not sure what else I can tell you, I did everything as described.

Any chance you can check the BIOS to see if I am doing something wrong?
 

Anhänge

  • R57XTGAMING-OC-8GD-MODOPT-ROM.zip
    211,1 KB · Aufrufe : 16

Mini_Me

Urgestein
Mitglied seit
Okt 11, 2020
Beiträge
1.463
Punkte
82
Thank Mini-Me for the detailed instructions, I have followed this again step by step. Created new modded BIOS file as attached carefully following your instruction and unfortunately killed my GPU again, will reflash it again back to default after work. I don't get what I am doing wrong here, am I just unlucky with the cards I have.

BIOS flashed with 2.93plus in safe mode windows, one card in system at a time. unlockrom first. Not sure what else I can tell you, I did everything as described.

Any chance you can check the BIOS to see if I am doing something wrong?
I will check it and update you after I finish whenever it is possible,

By the way, have you used the vbios version FZ0 provided in the guide yet?
 

Deano74

Neuling
Mitglied seit
Mrz 1, 2021
Beiträge
5
Punkte
1
I will check it and update you after I finish whenever it is possible,

By the way, have you used the vbios version FZ0 provided in the guide yet?
Unless I am blind, I cannot see any link to a vbios version FZ0 in your detailed guide.
I would be more than happy to try it, what/where am I missing this sorry.

 

Mini_Me

Urgestein
Mitglied seit
Okt 11, 2020
Beiträge
1.463
Punkte
82
Unless I am blind, I cannot see any link to a vbios version FZ0 in your detailed guide.
I would be more than happy to try it, what/where am I missing this sorry.

The link is in the step one, after clicking on it, you will be directed to another post with the vbios files,

 

Deano74

Neuling
Mitglied seit
Mrz 1, 2021
Beiträge
5
Punkte
1
The link is in the step one, after clicking on it, you will be directed to another post with the vbios files,

Cheers, will test it soon and let you know
I didn't click on that link as there was no instruction that suggested to, just thought it was a reference to the forum, now rereading it I see what its suggesting. All good, language barriers I get it. let you know soon bud
 

Deano74

Neuling
Mitglied seit
Mrz 1, 2021
Beiträge
5
Punkte
1
The link is in the step one, after clicking on it, you will be directed to another post with the vbios files,

Thankyou for your patience, all working now and 2 cards at 59 MH/s. Some mem temp issues so dropped till I can get that sorted
My issue was the base, starting from the FA0 firmware from Gigabytes website, not your FZ0.

Now onto my 5600XT and 5700 cards
 

qwaszxman

Mitglied
Mitglied seit
Feb 25, 2021
Beiträge
12
Punkte
2
HI all, so i followed the steps from the walkthrough post and its been running for 24 on everythings appears to be stable. have 100% share rate.

Here's a snip from the miner
1614682782653.png 1614682339377.png

1. The post speficied that i should be using voltage values of around 810/850. As you can see i've got them set much lower and everything appears to be stable. Does anyone know if im good to keep using these voltages or do i chance killing my hardware due to excessive undervolting.

2. A few of the memory temps stay at around 88. Is this a safe temp to keep running these at or should i try and get this lower?

3. Is that Watt usage normal? should i tweak the settings to try and get it lower?

Also i would like to keep these running 24/7.
I'm going to have a play around today to try and optimise what i have seeing as i know these settings are stable now.
 

Anhänge

  • 1614682641235.png
    1614682641235.png
    17,1 KB · Aufrufe : 119

martynx

Neuling
Mitglied seit
Feb 20, 2021
Beiträge
4
Punkte
2
Quick update, Aorus have very kindly :LOL::LOL: provided a signed bios flashing utility for the Aorus version cards on their site

which can be downloaded using this link


Initial tests seem prosiming. However just a small note, this tool comes with 2 bios versions, OC and Silent, however in the F2 format. Simply modify your original bios and put into the rigth folder with the correct ( .F2 ) extension and then run the flash utility.

I tried this on GV-57XTAORUS-GD REV2.0 ( Micron) & encountered some issues. My bios ( I chose the Silent one ) is 1024kb , whereas the files in the Aorus utility are 512kb. I downloaded the silent bios in HiveOS & changed the extension to F2 & placed it in the same folder as the 2 x F2 bios's. When running the batch file, there was no option to choose a file. The batch files , when viewed refers to the included F2 file's, either the silent or OC. The card was disabled afterwards. I was able to re-flash the stock bios in HiveOS & its running again. In the bios is see the reference "F70"

Did you encounter anything like this ?

I can see F70 file on page 63 but its 512kb not 1024kb like mine.

My original bios is attached , zipped , for reference.
 

Anhänge

  • Desktop-0-Aorus_RX5700XT-8G-Micron_GDDR6-xxx-xxx-xxx-47845.zip
    198,9 KB · Aufrufe : 9
Zuletzt bearbeitet :

qwaszxman

Mitglied
Mitglied seit
Feb 25, 2021
Beiträge
12
Punkte
2
I tried this on GV-57XTAORUS-GD REV2.0 ( Micron) & encountered some issues. My bios ( I chose the Silent one ) is 1024kb , whereas the files in the Aorus utility are 512kb. I downloaded the silent bios in HiveOS & changed the extension to F2 & placed it in the same folder as the 2 x F2 bios's. When running the batch file, there was no option to choose a file. The batch files , when viewed refers to the included F2 file's, either the silent or OC. The card was disabled afterwards. I was able to re-flash the stock bios in HiveOS & its running again. In the bios is see the reference "F70"

Did you encounter anything like this ?

I can see F70 file on page 63 but its 512kb not 1024kb like mine.

My original bios is attached , zipped , for reference.

Yeah sorry please ignore that previous post,I thought it had worked but when i flashed with that tool gpu-z would no longer recognize my card.

I have been able to patch Aorus cards now using the atiflash version 2.93Plus provided by Igor on the RBE page.

Also my card had a signed bios so i was not able to boot with a flashed version at all. In the end i was able to get modding to work by using a unsigned version of the bios that was provided to me

Please use the unlocked vbios file in the kindly attached link below,

https://www.igorslab.de/community/attachments/m-micron-f70-gigabyte-aorus-rx57xt-v68-rom.10306/

Also as for the difference in size, i think that is safe to ignore, I noticed that when using the RBE tool after modifiying a bios file 512KB of empty bytes get added to the end of the file,
 

martynx

Neuling
Mitglied seit
Feb 20, 2021
Beiträge
4
Punkte
2
Thanks qwaszxman , I'll try that another day :)

I managed to brick a Gigabyte 5700XT Gaming in the meantime. Used the windows tool 1st on page 1 but have 0 values showing in GPU & Default clock in GPU-Z.
Tried the freedos version method but got filename not recognised when trying to flash.
atiwinflash says version already installed.

Not sure what to do next!
 

Mini_Me

Urgestein
Mitglied seit
Okt 11, 2020
Beiträge
1.463
Punkte
82
Thanks qwaszxman , I'll try that another day :)

I managed to brick a Gigabyte 5700XT Gaming in the meantime. Used the windows tool 1st on page 1 but have 0 values showing in GPU & Default clock in GPU-Z.
Tried the freedos version method but got filename not recognised when trying to flash.
atiwinflash says version already installed.

Not sure what to do next!
Please follow the guide in the kindly attached link below and do verify your memory type by checking the backup original vbios of your card in RedBiosEditor,

 

martynx

Neuling
Mitglied seit
Feb 20, 2021
Beiträge
4
Punkte
2
Thanks Mini Me - Its working again. My Windows 10 machine wouldn't even go into safe mode plus gave SSID error & various other issues. On Windows 7 using internal graphic card, the freedos version worked just fine, & after using -unlock, i flashed in a backup from other same model cards bought from the same batch & one with ID F40 ( Samsung memory) worked fine. So i think the issue is just use right bios , maybe look in editor & confirm F40, FA0 , F80 etc 1st as tool as Gigabyte Windows tool supplied might be just for one memory type.

My question now is this -
1 - now its working & i have used -unlock , can i mod the same bios & write it back in using this freedos tool ?
2 - Could I use Hive to write modded bios in now onwards or is this still rev2,0 & not modifiable ? the working bios is attached.
 

Anhänge

  • Screenshot 2021-03-04 14.29.07.png
    Screenshot 2021-03-04 14.29.07.png
    159,9 KB · Aufrufe : 108
  • 57_2_Giga_OC_ORI_RX5700XT-8G-Samsung_GDDR6-Samsung_75070.zip
    198,8 KB · Aufrufe : 9
Oben Unten